Taming My Tongue! — Day 21

The self-absorbed tongue can be a trap for me, if I am not careful!
I have much to say… and well if no one else wants to talk… here’s what I think. 🙂

One does tire of the person who has nothing else to talk about but him or herself. Therefore, I make myself focus on what the other person is saying. To ensure that he or she knows that I am listening, I will give cues such as turning towards the person or nodding as he or she speaks. The person’s positive cues back to me keeps me focused on him or her; then, I can get through the conversation.

Too, I remind myself that if all I am doing is talking about me, then I am probably not presenting God to others nor sharing His grace and mercy unto me. For surely, I do not live this life on my merit alone!

How do you keep yourself from always talking about you!

Share your method!
Debra

Leave a Reply

