Taming My Tongue! — Day 13

The “belittling tongue” hit home the hardest! Belittling is defined as saying or thinking that someone or something is unimportant or not very good. 1

I would not eagerly admit to belittling people. But, by the time the author finished with her explanations and examples, I felt “guilty” had been stamped all over me! She got me best with the question of “Are your expectations of others so high that you focus on their shortcomings and not their assets?” *

“But I have something to say”, I retorted.  And even when I don’t verbalize my thoughts about how they could be better, I am definitely thinking it.

So what scriptures can I use to squelched this one? I thought of  Psalm 17:3 (KJV) “Thou hast proved mine heart; thou hast visited me in the night; thou hast tried me, and shalt find nothing; I am purposed that my mouth shall not transgress.”

I have the feeling I better start searching for several more!
Share your thoughts!

1. Go to the online dictionary,  http://www.onelook.com
* See page 58 of 30 Days to Taming Your Tongue by Deborah Smith Pegues

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

